the writing on the walls – the a-Samuni family

the a-samuni family’s story was documented and widely heard about during operation cast lead, (they lost 48 members of their family), yet it was at this point that everything we had seen in our days spent in gaza that had seemed so surreal – suddenly became more than real – it hit me so hard in the guts i felt sick to the bone –
it was the writing on the walls…

IDF writings in an a-Samuni home

IDF writings in an a-Samuni home

writings on the wall in the a-samuni homes

writings on the wall in the a-samuni homes

a-Samuni home

a-Samuni home

....

....

....

....

...

...

2 thoughts on “the writing on the walls – the a-Samuni family

  1. Hey Jesse,

    I’ve been reading through your site over the past few days, and just finished now. For ages I’ve sort of had an idea, sort of had no idea, of what was/is happening over there. But your writing and photos have given me a much more real-feeling perspective on it all… I have read stories of experiences as told by people that have lived there, and various news reports, but always there is a distance, a gap. Perhaps it’s just because I know you, but perhaps it’s because of the honesty of your writing and the outsider perspective you are coming to terms with, but it feels like a real place in the world to me now.

    This post, as you say, is especially hard to stomach.

    Thank you for sharing it all.

    ~Joe
    (Keenan, that is)

  2. Mr/Ms Jessie, fantastic very profound it does not need an explanation, thank you for sharing it wit us, I found you by way of Ebay, I am going to try to bid on your camera, I hope to get it,you are doing what I dreamt to do when I was young I am in the early winter of my life,my pix are what I call Visual Moments of Life,Social historic documentacion,I will follow you via WordPress, good luck and may God keep you safe in your travels.

    yours jorge figueroa ( Philadelphia PA )

Leave a Reply

